Jeong’s Dosirak, Oxford Covered Market

Recently in Oxford we’ve had a new culinary addition to our Covered Market in the shape of Jeong’s Dosirak. Dosirak are Korean lunch boxes, usually consisting of meat and vegetable dishes and rice, very similar to the Japanese bento. This tiny little shop must have only opened in the past month or so, and seems to be doing fairly well. They cater for eat-in and take out, with both hot and cold serving options. However if you want to eat in, be cautious as there is only seating for ten!

For my first visit to Jeong’s, I went for Bulgogi Deopbab, marinated beef, onion and pepper over steamed rice, with a side of kimchi and Korean miso soup (called Doenjang Guk). The beef was tender and hearty, and incredibly filling, while the home made kimchi was refreshing in its temperature but exciting in its spice.At around £8 for the lot, it won’t break the bank for a filling and interesting lunch in Oxford. Oh, and as a special opening promotion, the daily soup is free!

img_1763

It didn’t take me long to go back to Jeong’s, in fact I was there again only a couple of days after. This time I went for something a little more glutinous in the shape of cheese donkatsu, breaded and deep fried pork cutlet over rice with a sweet yuzu sauce, topped in a thick, hot layer of melted cheese! Again I went for a side of kimchi, and this time a free cup of egg drop soup. I must say that I preferred the beef dish, but it was still delicious, and again definitely very filling! The sheer volume of the cheese over it, mixing with the rice and the crispy pork made it an accomplishment to even finish. I was practically rolling back to work!

IMG_1764.JPG

I would honestly recommend Jeong’s Dojirak for a nice, quick lunch in Oxford, it’s nothing fancy, it’s relaxed and most importantly it’s tasty.

Leave a comment