Anthony Bourdain, Egg Salad Sandwiches, and Japan

He’s featured them in his shows. He’s tweeted about them. Even his wife has written about them! Japan’s egg salad sandwiches. He loves them, and he isn’t wrong for it!

You can find them, for dirt cheap, in any convenience store, or konbini. You can see in the photo above, just ¥240 (about £1.50/$2). Soft, fluffy, crustless white bread, smooth, creamy, rich egg filling. I remember many times grabbing a couple of these on my way to work or the station, a great snack. They’re delicious and simple; you really can’t fault them.

I remember back in May 2014, my sister came to visit me in Osaka. Her first time in Japan, and a foodie like myself, she was obviously excited to try as much food as she could in her time there. So when I took her to a small convenience store and grabbed egg salad sandwiches, thrusting one into her hand and telling her to eat with delight in my eyes, she understandably looked at me like I was crazy. Of all the amazing food in Japan, why are you giving me an egg salad sandwich? She soon realised. To this day, I don’t think I’ve ever had better egg salad sandwiches than those small, cheap, almost fake ones that I enjoyed in Japan.

Leave a comment